Wednesday, December 29, 2010

Deeeeeep

Bleep bleep, deeepity beep reep fleebeep peeep pop flop..... 



beeep bleep bleeedeep bareep meep feepfeep doobity deeebleep meep.

A New Years resolution.

Everyone is doing it. it's just that time of year when we talk about our plans for the new year.

My resolution is to BE organized. i won't GET organized this year, i've GOTTEN organized many times before... it just doesn't stay that way. BE organized Jane.

I've been going through the initial steps of GETTING organized for a few months now. since just before buggy's birthday i've been getting rid of THINGS one by one or in bulk, taking them to free store or throwing them away. i bought a slingshot planner:

Slingshot 2011 Organizer

I've been researching and considering my options for organizing toys and other fun stuff to step on  and i've been making a space for everything. This will be a great investment, when i get the opportunity to order it:

Sling Bookshelf with Storage Bins for Kids Espresso

But the most important part of making this step is to just stop bringing crap home. Being a big Phoenix Free Store fan and participant, i tend to bring home all sorts of silly nonsence. clothes and toys that complicate matters, knickknacks i don't need cluttering my life all of which goes back from whence it came.

Free store, in fact, is another thing complicating my life. people leave things there with good intentions only for it to be made my job to pick through, take out wht is crap and individually fold, hang and find space for tons  of stuff. lucky for me theres often other folks who organize it as well. but if only it could be the responsibility of those who are putting the things in, or the people who are taking things out!

I'll keep updates on the subject here and there just to note my progress. it may be boring to read, but it's a great step for self improvement.

I'm quite curious to know if anyone else has a resolution this year and what steps you're taking to fulfill that resolution NOW.  If you have a resolution, feel free to post it in the comments :)


Til' next time, same untime, same unchannel (kill your tv)

Janey

Friday, December 3, 2010

I'm missing it.

Missing Furst FRiday... it's hard to call that much of a loss, too many jerks out there. but amongst the jerks are people i like to see, and if you take away the jerks altogether, there's usually some good art to see, as well as performance, bands and more. Yes of course ther are also good people in those crowds. You know who they are when they buy some art or show some appreciation for it at least. those people are more than welcome to come downtown in my opinion. Hell i want those people to LIVE downtown!

But the jerks, they get drunk, block the sidewalks for no reason, break stuff, throw trash everywhere (if you are just going to throw the flyer on the ground in ten paces, don't take the flyer.), pick fights, and have a generally judgmental attitude. why do they even go? it's not a party... jerks. those are the people that should just go to ozzfest, or fraternity alley (Formery Mill ave in Tempe) or an icp concert and not to anything else. especially not the ART walk. just stop.. really.

well off of that note (really i've ranted about first friday like 5 times in writing) today has been quite interesting.. sick baby, boyfriend with a bloody swollen face at 3 in the morning... life is grand. I'm gonna put Buggy to sleep a little bit early tonight and go out on my own... i'll just miss the worst of the ff crowd that way... it's been a day....

That's all for now (insert catchy blog farewell here)

-Janey Monsterr

(p.s. i actually DID go out later in the night, when everyone else was sleeping..)

Thursday, December 2, 2010

so much more

i've been doing a lot of studying into things, things like anarchism, and local life around the phoenix  area.. it wasn't really hard to come to the conclution that anarchism wins..... yes, every time..... when you have no bread and yave no money what do you do? do you sit and wait and fill out paperwork hoping they'll accept your request for bread? or do you accept that it is this time at least, up to you, you must take the bread you need to feed yourself and your family?

i've chosen the latter, again. to take for my family.

I've also had a few instances of self questioning... i'm on ssi, what does that mean really? am i just a leech in the system? or is this a reparation for the wrongs the system has done for me? again, the latter prevails, this system has screwed me ovber, sent me tpo places no child should see, and my paren5ts, a slave to it themselves have left me to the side in years that were crucial to my development.the things i've been put through are things i will never do to my child for sure. psych meds and institutions.

this world is a crazy place, sure..... but there's no reason we can't be the people we CAN be. nobody can stop me now that i am not afraid. i teach my child what is right and that is MY job, not theirs.


we'll here's to vagueness....

til' next time, same untime, same unchannel

Janey

EDIT:

(a note in post: this blog was written in a state of uh.. "Fluidity" on a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the most intoxicated, i was a 6, please pardon all spelling errors and political incorrectness....

you know what? actually don't. take them in with great joy... and love the lack of censorship)

Monday, November 22, 2010

Disney is done making princess movies... why should i care?

Says the article on Yahoo

  But what was that they just said?
“By the time they’re 5 or 6, [girls are] not interested in being princesses. They’re interested in being hot, in being cool. Clearly, they see this is what society values.” (That’s right: A girl born in 2005 already is worrying about how “hot” she is. Have fun with that, moms and dads of the world.)

 i won't raise my daughter (who's 2) on disney movies anyway, but i seriously doubt that  5 year olds are worried about "society's values" they probably  just do what they learn from their parents.

So even if it's true, that 5 year olds just want to be "cool" and "hot", it's only based on how big a priority that is to mom and dad. Mom in particular nowadays, has this synthesized pressure to stay hot, be a "Milf", have a sexy facebook picture... it's real easy (for some) to lose sense of what's really important, raising a strong, intelligent, happy and independent person.

Perhaps it's too hard to find the right media. Mainstream media wants nothing more than for you too feel you aren't good enough, but you will be if you buy their products. Oh yeah, sure, they can make you better, faster, stronger, yeah friggin right! In reality they will tear you apart and sell you a new perfume.

Stop listening to marketing, for your own good, and your childs. Find alternative media, seek out alternative entertainment, go to plays and open mic's  instead of movies, STOP READING MAGAZINES! Smash your television. Go to the library, your LOCAL coffee shop.

i'm not saying you shouldn't shave your legs or you should stop wearing makeup (we'll discuss cruelty free makeups another day). i am simply saying that maybe you should kick the high heels sometimes, okay, most times, is it really that important that you're wearing the right cleavage baring top with the right skin tight jeans? Maybe it is, but i hope you understand how the small things you do matter to your child.

if you don't know how the corporations are brainwashing you, go on, tell me thay aren't we'll work to find out exactly how they are. No i'm not attacking you, i just think people should be aware of their impact, even if they choose not to change it.

well my daughter wants to hang out, so that's all for now.
see you next time, same untime, same unchannel.

Monday, November 15, 2010

P.A.P.A Parade

Thought i'd post some pictures of the P.A.P.A Parade (Phoenix annual parade of the arts), besides, i said i would in the last blog, did i not?

Our float won best float (Spaceship phoenix) i don't have a better picture, yet.
 A Sign on the side of the Spaceship Phoenix
Freedom Led our hoop group, with choreography at intersections, yet the people in cars were to old/too conservative/to boring to appreciate the spectacle
Lavonte came late to the Parade, and yet she had an amazing Willy Wonka-esque float made from a kid bicycle trailer
 Tilly (moi) and Phoebe (Kristy) from the Cast of Spaceship Phoenix (Episode four info here:http://www.facebook.com/event.php?eid=102884733115352)
 Djentrification Spinning awesome World Dance music all night!
I'm Guessing this was to celebrate Prop 203, pretty cool :)
 Me As Tilly, before the parade
Steampunk Phil
The Monster Family.
 Joanna and Enki... during the parade? i think?
 Miss Sarah Jain has amazing minihoop skills
 JAD Explaining one of his masks to an onlooker after the parade.
 Stiltwalker, fox, bumblebee.. i wish i had a better camera!
What lydia sees
Carla as Foxy
And Lydia and her mom (me)


I didn't really get many shots of DURING the parade, i was too busy hooping and trying to maintain my roles as both a Spaceship phoenix cast member and part of the choreographed hoop group. but there were many onlookers at the restaurants downtown who loved us all, and the got pictures :) i can't wait for next year!

Friday, November 12, 2010

And a few weeks later.. What is happening in my life

it's been a while, and while i'm most positive i don't have a very high readership at this point I'd still like for this to NOT be boring, if only just for my own sake. So here goes another blog, this time with a subject. it's not too interesting, but i am only getting the ball rolling now aren't i?

Saterday is the P.A.P.A Parade (Phoenix annual parade of the arts) and i've done, well, nothing to get ready for it... i'll still participate, but it's not going to be my best... there's always next year. the theme this year is "Let it Grow! Let it Grow! Let it Grow!" considering that last year's theme was "Green" i imagine most are just reusing their costumes. not really. i do plan on hooping throughout the parade, i'll be sure to post pictures if i get any :)


Day two of massive November weekend 2.0 entails Lydia's first trip to the Zoo. imagine seeing all those animals in real life for the first time! i'll just keep my fingers crossed that there aren't tantrums between exhibits.


So much more on my agenda, but i'll save it for the next blog. There are more important matters to write about.

Today i started up my vegetarian diet again, and I'm already well on my way to a vegan diet. thanks to having past experience with it, and the largely vegan community around me, the transition isn't too hard on me. I've had straight up milk out of my diet for around a month now, i haven't eaten straight up eggs in i don't know how long! but this doesn't include foods with milk or egg products in them. i had a piece of pumpkin pie today, for instance, not vegan, but i feel no guilt for that, I've only just begun after all. besides no longer serving the animal industry, i'll also have more to write about :).


well i've proven to myself now that i need to blog at least once (or twice) a week. i still have things i want to get out, but i just don't feel like sitting here all night about it, so here's the short of the short:

Selling very well in conspire, love working shifts there.
taken up painting (again?) Work in LYLT Show @ The Tire Pit
Took an Amazing hoops workshop this week
I Actually went to a bar, drank a beer. screw you, this is massive news.


That's all for tonight, same untime, same unchannel.


-JaneyMonster





Thursday, October 14, 2010

I started a blog today

Wow, who'da thunk it. well me i guess, i've been thinking of doing this for years... but well, i'm not to fond of writing, not very good at it either, and yet still, something about "THE BLOG" is apealing to me, a public journal. feedback is important in life.

so what now? am i going to be one of those people who blogs everything in their life? no, i guess they've moved on to twitter haven't they...

i just want this to be interesting. no posts about me pulling weeds or washing dishes, that's for damned sure! Interesting happens about once or twice a week around here, that's enough writing for me.